Abzmitz's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Johnnie walker!

I had the privilege to take a course on Brand management. In one of the class we had to analyse an advertisement. I had previously seen this Johnnie walker ad, but I had never given a though about it.

“I am faster than you, I am stronger than you, certainly I will last longer than you. You may think I am the future, but you are wrong, you are. If i had a wish, I wish to be human, to know how it feels.. to feel, to hold, to despair, to wonder, to love. I can achieve immortality without wearing out. You can achieve immortality by doing one great thing… KEEP WALKING”

Every word in this has been chosen to reflect the brand Johnny Walker.  The ad starts with an old library with statues of great personalities of out past and at the end the human android is sitting. The reference is TIME. It says the brand has stood over centuries. Then they show many images like an open book, globe, spiral wire, pyramid.. all these represent the presence of the brand in time across the globe. The sun rises and sets, which is an expression for the way it has stood with time. Then the human android speaks about the brand. The android is Johnny Walker. The human android is also a symbol left to the imagination of the viewers. Every person who watches it relates himself to great personalities who have left behind their foot print. If you see closely the words spoken and the image, there is lot of relationship. You can see fluids moving inside the android is talking. What they are trying to show here is also their superiority in technology in making whiskey. And since this product is niche in its category it is targeted to people who are rich and successful and to also people who wish to be rich and successful.

It’s not get an ad, it is has won many awards for its creativity and details. At last what inspire me is the last sentence, “You can achieve immortality by doing one great thing… KEEP WALKING”

December 29, 2009 Posted by | Serious Thinking.. Blah..Blah! | Leave a comment

Dream on…

I day dream a lot. Usually my imagination runs simultaneously as someone speaks. Its very spontaneous. If I am sitting in a investment banking class, I start imaging myself as a hedge fund manager giving a return of 60% to my clients and retire as a billionaire. And similarly I become a billionaire in many other imagination of myself as a entrepreneur, tennis player and sometimes even lottery winner.

I don’t stress on that part, but the part where  I imagine myself  after I become a billionaire.  I never see myself driving expensive cars or having lavish parties with pretty women. I see myself amids a huge reforestation site. I build villages which are self sufficient with water and power resources. I educate people in backward nations to live and earn, not by feeding them. That is because I believe in the concept of teaching a hungry man to fish than giving him fish. I dream of eradicating the ruthless dictators in African nations. I dream of making African nations realize how much resources they have to become a super power. In short I dream of making earth a better place to live.

I also dream of scaling Mt Everest and going to North and South poles. I never dream of shopping but I dream to live and experience nature and its beauty. Whenever I see places shown in the TV channel travel and living, I imagine myself in those places. Sometimes I imagine the blue and white sand beaches with beautiful coral reefs and colorful fishes. And at times I dream of understanding different cultures even though I have never understood my own.

I dream of the barriers between nations  broken and everyone living in unity and harmony, sharing and caring. No racism, no discrimination based on caste or religion. Its all my dream though.

December 29, 2009 Posted by | Serious Thinking.. Blah..Blah! | Leave a comment